When One Door Closes Another Opens–Short Story

 

I WAS THERE WHEN the red van stopped outside. Sitting on the window seat, feet drawn up, gazing at the familiar scene of the front garden and looking for inspiration in planning my day. In the wood opposite trees were coming into leaf, bird song filled the air. I knew soon immerging from the ground would be an abundance of bluebells, primroses and violets. Today I would introduce my 2 year old to ‘my’ favourite wood. We would pick some flowers to put in the now empty vase. Just as I did as a child. She was not awake yet and I was enjoying the quietness before preparing our breakfasts.

I recalled Grans’ words ‘When one door closes another opens.‘ Yesterday seemed another world. Today I would leave the old path with its memories to explore my new one.

My thoughts were interrupted as the wooden gate gave a familiar creak. I saw the figure stride up the path, singing.

Making my way toward the front door I carefully stepped between the yet unpacked boxes. And there he stood!

‘Morning Jenny.’

‘Morning Andy. What a surprise’. He handed me the bundle of letters.

‘Here you are. I’ve taken over Father’s round now. Sorry to hear about Gran.’

‘Yes I shall miss her.

‘Aye, won’t we all.’ He reached into his pocket and handed me the note.

‘This is from Farmer Makedo. Anything you want just let me know. I pass by about this time every day’. He turned and made his way back to the van.

Back at the window I waved to him as he turned to shut the gate.

Opening the note I read:

“Dear Jenny

Welcome to our family. Bounty has given birth to 6 pups and I was wondering whether you and baby Alice would like one. Call anytime. Your Gran and me had some wonderful times and we will all miss her.’

From Joe.”

How thoughtful of him. Gran and I often visited his farm. I think she had a soft spot for him.

‘Be strong Jenny. I will always be with you. This is your home now.’

This thought came into my mind. Words of wisdom spoken to me by Gran when recently I’d been widowed, but at the time didn’t fully understand what she meant. Everything began to fall into place. Now, having seen Andy and the visit to the farm with Alice later, I understood what Gran had meant. Yesterday I’d been apprehensive of the move but today I felt her presence, giving me strength, calmness and peace. I’d come home.

© miss mary

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Life, Story and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

