Curtains on a Budget

 

My bathroom window curtains I’d taken from the Porch-way and now with the colder weather approaching needed to replace them. I like to shop on a cheap budget and therefore often visit our local charity shops where I can purchase clothes, books ect. My unwanted items are donated too. In this way I support the charity.

Every town has charity shops, Swansea being no exception and in the RSPCA shop purchased lining curtains for £1.99.

Looking at them picture in my mind to cut the right length, hem the bottom and hang. All done in a matter of a couple of hours – easy- peasy. But nothing turns out how originally planned.

Having tried to put the curtain through the narrow tape found it would not go! I left it for a while to think.

Ideas came to me. I would have to put the curtains from the bathroom back in the porch-way. This I did then proceeded on the transformation of the curtains to fit the other window.

Taking one of the curtains I pressed and cut it in half – breadth. With the bottom half the hem would now become the pole would go through. Next I pressed down the curtain length ways. Now I had two curtains constructed out of the one curtain. By using the hot iron it made creases, enabling an easier cut.

It was a pleasure to sit in my Bay-window, where there is a very good light, and hemmed the sides and bottom. Now they were ready to hang. And what a difference it made, fresh and clean, blending into the décor of the Bathroom.

For now I will rest a while before the other part of the curtain is made and attached to the kitchen curtains and I still have the other curtain left to make use of at some time.

 

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Challenges, Sewing, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

