Calm After The Storm Part 1

The damage caused by the recent storms has been devastating to the folks of the U.K.

Here in Wales – Aberystwyth the sea front has lots of debris thrown up by the the huge surge of high tides. Many students have their accommodation  along here and had to be evacuated at one point.

Today with the internet one can follow what is happening around the world. it is by this method I was able to see the reports and pictures.

Yet nearer home  damage has occurred  and so I decided to visit and see for my self.

I parked my car at Sainsbury ( on Swansea marina) and Spotty and I walked our usual walk to the beach. passing the place where the fishing boats moored I noticed they were all out. I wonder whether after  storms its the best time to fish?

The path that runs along the pier had been cordoned off but the grassy area above (where we usually walk) was not.As you can see in the pictures the wall has caved in. Down at the beach the sand-dunes had been reduced in size and the beach littered with many different size sticks. Spotty paddled in the sea and I could see how excited she was to see all the sticks.

I am pleased that we will still be able to do this walk as it is one of our favourites.

 

 

Spotty looking at Debris Wall Collapsed           Collapsed Wall by Pier

 

Debris by Pier Swansea          Sand-dunes Swansea

Spotty on Swansea beach

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Beach, Disasters, Life, Memory, Photos, Weather and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Calm After The Storm Part 1

  1. Thanks for the comment Yes Spotty is always sniffing. I wonder what story these smells tell?

Leave a Reply

