My health – Update

Wednesday I had my Endoscopy. My daughter and I were hoping for a result but this was not to be.

The diagnosis was ‘a small hiatus hernia’ which we already knew about as this was diagnosed in 2010.

We were told that I would see the consultant in 4 weeks time!!

They say that but time goes by and it is often more like 6-8 weeks.How can I continue this pain and quality of life to continue?

I want to have my ‘life’ back I want to spend my afternoons being dressed and able to go out and walk Spotty. I want to wear nice clothes that fit me without the discomfort around my waist that them gives me the pain. I DO NOT WANT TO SPEND MY AFTERNOONS IN BED.! I want to go for days out even have a holiday by visiting my daughter. I have not left the house for a break for 1 whole year now and I am not used to this style of living

Once back home we discussed what our next step will be. We came up with that a C.T. Scan would see the abdomen and chest and give a more effective insight into the ‘goings on.’ To wait to see the consultant and if he then says have a C.T. Scan this would be another 18 weeks (that’s what I’ve heard on the waiting time). It’s already been 14 Months since this started and no diagnosis or treatment.

My daughter phoned to try and speak with the consultant but only had a text message from his secretary to say he would see me in 4 weeks.

She will try and phone again to try and speak to him tomorrow. But we have decided to go private as this would be done in a matter of a couple of weeks when contacting. I would have the result to be able to take to him at my appointment. As I say even waiting to see him and then should he say a scan then it will be ages again.

The actual treatment was carried out very efficiently. The nurses showed care and kindness. I was very nervous which showed  up on my B/P by being over 200 but once in recovery went down to 153 As I was having sedation they had to put the needle into one of my veins, but they had three goes with out success – on the back of the left hand, in the arm(elbow) Then on the back of the right  hand. The nurse said the doctor will do it but then another nurse came and put it into arm elbow and succeeded. I vaguely remember the procedure but it remained ‘misty’. Once in recovery I stayed for about half an hour. Once the B/P was taken again and the reading was fine she took out the needle, gave me a cup of tea and my daughter had one too. We were then allowed to go. Glad to be home I went back to bed. I felt strange and cat napped  before finally going to sleep properly. My daughter stayed the night and kept an eye on me.

I had to stop all my medication 1 week before hand and this caused wind, heart burn, burping and flatulence – all constant and making me feel awful. Once back home I took my pills and the next morning took them again. Now back into routine and all eased off

This morning no ill effects and my daughter drove the car and we went up to Bracelet bay Swansea (with Spotty) and had our morning coffee and walked on the beach. The sun shining, making a pleasant morning.We then called in at my son, hence the day was delightful but now she has returned home as she lives up in the South of England’

 

 

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My health – Update

  1. mavimet says:

    I hope you get some answers and some relief now Mary.

  2. Yes I agree. Thanks for your reply. Back on the meds. and now feel a little better

Leave a Reply

