Near To The End–Short Story

 

“This is about a walk with Spotty, my son and Ruby (his dog)when we walked on the Gower in South Wales.”

Real life story – walk 2011 – edited 2013

Sunday afternoons, Spotty, my dog, and I spend with my son and his dog Ruby. When the weather is fine we drive to anywhere and find a nice walk.

We have lots of adventures and this is about one of them. We were walking on Gower and in the country part.

We Came out of the wood to find another style to be crossed. Most of the styles encountered on this walk meant lifting Spotty over. At one time a small gap by the style indicated where the dogs could go through but not anymore.

Before proceeding over my son, read from the guide book telling us which way to go.

There are four chestnut trees to your right. Go past these until you reach the next style’.

Yes straight ahead, up the grassy slope and the 4 oak trees were on the right. We continued following the instructions.

Our book proved most useful but we did not anticipate what would happen next.

I went over first and together we lifted Spotty over. Next my son climbed over clutching Ruby. ‘Mum, I see sheep.’ He informed me

‘Ok.’ I replied, ‘dogs on leads then.’

We walked straight across the middle of the field to the next style, passing the sheep at a distance. I thought they would not bother us but on seeing Spotty, oh how wrong can you be! It was quite the reverse as all gathered together and got very close to us. They were herding us!

Spotty usually ignores sheep but this time her defensives struck in to protect us and gave them such a glare, as though giving them her rounding up sheepdog stare. With that the sheep backed away and we were safe.

Looking over into the next field I called to Paul to say we had better get across the next field quickly as there were some cows over in the distance. They were feeding over in the corner near to some barns.

On seeing us they turned, one cow appeared to be the leader. As they approached we became shocked to find they were not cows but young heifers!

I have never been so frightened in all my life, knowing what Heifers and Bulls can do to Humans – out to kill and maim. I kept insisting to Paul, ‘hurry up, hurry up, these can be dangerous!’

As we neared the style the main heifer turned away. I think he realised there was not enough space for his herd to get round in a circle and put us in the middle.

My heart was pounding and out of breath. Once over the style I flopped on the grass verge, by the busy road and waited ‘till my breathing became easier and heart back to a regular heartbeat.

It was a relief to get back to where we had parked the car. Nearby the pub tempted us for a drink. We went to sit outside and enjoyed our well-earned drink after our escapade and narrow escape.

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Challenges, Life, Memory, True Stories, Walks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

