Celebrating St. David’s’ Day 2014

It is the beginning of March 2014 already!! The last couple of months have flown by.

!st March is St. David Day here in Wales. When it falls on a school days the children dress up in National costume.

image

People in Wales and those of Welsh origin celebrate the life of their patron saint, St David, and the Welsh culture on March 1 each year. Many people pin a daffodil or leek to their clothes and some, especially children, wear traditional costumes.

Today I visited Aberdulias Falls, run by the National Trust. It is from today they now open 7 days a week for the duration of the rest of the year.

Due to my being unwell I have not visited for about a a couple years. I used to do Voluntary work and so know people from the site.

Spotty and I arrived a little early and the first warm welcome was by the girl who runs the shop. She told me they would be open in about another half hour.

To while away the time I took Spotty down to Aberdulais basin and in my next blog you can see what we saw.

I was given another warm welcome in the tearooms where I had once worked. It is nice to be remembered.

Sitting outside, drinking my Cappuccino, Spotty by my side, I listened to the sound of the bell ringers. I remembered the many ‘1st March’ days I had spent down here.The manager of the site came and spoke with me too. After he’d gone I just sat and thought how much I missed not being here. What could I do. Before I left I had decided I would come back and work voluntary for one day in the week in the tea-rooms.

It would give me something to look forward as I await for myself to get better.

I will be seeing the consultant next Wednesday and my daughter will be with me. We shall persist that something must be done a diagnose and treat Two years is one hell of a long time.

Time to sign off and will put the photos of our walk up on the next blog.

 

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Actions, Event, Health and wellness, Illness, Life, Memory, Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

