Spotty–Health

 

DSCF0476

A couple of weeks back Spotty became increasingly worse with her illness.

My mind tossed and turned with worry. I was planning what to do at the end. I went over all the great times we had had together. I asked myself’ would I have another dog?’ and in doing this looked at the internet site of the ‘Dog’s Trust.’

As I say my mind was in turmoil. That Wednesday I asked my son to come with me to the vet. I feared the worst that i would have to have her put to sleep. no loving master/mistress ever wants to do.

To explain; Spotty could hardly walk. Just walking up one side of our road and back in another,an effort, no smelling. She did not follow me round the flat, She rested in  her basket – yet looking back I could see she was in pain. She had gone off her food. There was no talking,no wagging tail, no smile.

                                               DSCF0479  

She knew she was going to visit the vet and walked slowly to the vets. They are only a 5 minute walk away. Whilst waiting she, in fact all the dogs waiting receive a ‘treat’ and Spotty devoured these with enthusiasm, even cleaning the floor of dropped ones.

After her examination the lady gave gave me re-assurance. yes she was in a lot of pain but it can be controlled and there is a lot of life left in her yet. (she is 15 years).

I was given the Tramadol and instructed to give half in the morning and half in the night. To go back next Wednesday

That was last Wednesday. Since then she has been having a more restful sleep with no dog walks. Some days the sun has shone and it is warm in the back yard and so we have sat out there.

Yesterday we went over to my son for Sunday dinner. he has stairs leading to his flat and Spotty had to be carried up. her appetite has returned and is getting lots of treats.

After dinner I took her down to do her business. She was walking a little better and we walked round the car park at a trot. i was pleased.Back home she was pottering more.

Putting her to bed last night she gave me a kiss.Today she has got up out of her basket, walked well to go outside. Came back in and is now waiting for her breakfast.

The best Easter gift for me this year is Spotty showing signs of getting well again.

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Health and wellness, Illness, Life, Photos, Spotty and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spotty–Health

  1. mavimet says:

    I am so glad that she is feeling better again Mary. Glad you can both enjoy your days again.

  2. Clowie says:

    I’m glad she’s improving again. You must have been very worried and upset.

  3. Mags Corner says:

    We hope sweet Spotty continues to improve. Hugs and nose kisses

  4. I hope the lovely Spring days will cheer Spotty up and give her a new lease of life.
    All the best 🙂

Leave a Reply

