The Sick Dog

For a while Spotty has been unwell. I’ve watched her body slowly closing down.

Despite nursing a sick dog that is hard work it can be rewarding.

it started off with her being unable to use he back legs/paws. She began slipping all over the place. A visit to the vet and he prescribed Metaform daily.This is a pain killer but does have side effects.

Spotty:

did not wag her tail;  wash;  smile; sigh; talk; dream,sniff and smell, potter round the place or even clean the kitchen as she usually did

Walking was very slow with a sad look Diet very poor

her time spent in her basket sleeping. I gave her lots of love and talked to her constantly.

it came to the point where I decided maybe it was time to have her put to sleep. I did not want it this way but if that what was had to be done, it had to be done.

I prepared myself and spent time working out what one had to do. That Wed. I called my son and we both went to the Vet. Spotty perked up. She loves visiting there as the ladies (while waiting) give them all treats.

We were pleasantly surprised when the vet said there was plenty of life in her yet and gave me another pain killer and to come back the next week. The following week she showed improvement.

As I said before the Metacalm is for pain. I felt there must be something on the market to help with joints. I v had a long chat with the lady who runs the local pet store in the market. It transpired her dog had stomach problems but once on R~A Joint Formula improved tremendously.

I have stopped that now and Spotty is on the formula. It was although her whole body was shutting down but now it is waking up.

Tail wags, cleans herself smiles occasionally, gives me lick kisses,

Walking her remains difficult as we walk up the street a little way and back. I take her in the car for a small walk at our ‘bottom pond’

Today I have taken her down to the local Pet Store . A place she loves. Is this dog really sick? She hurries up the steps and once inside goes to look for her friends (the staff). Wags her tail and sits nicely to be given a treat.

So dogs do get depressed and need therapy and the place for Spotty is right here.

Diet

Her habits have changed it it is Chicken and Rice 3 times a day. I have varied with lamb and added lamb gravy. She has had very loose stools the last couple of days. Again another chat with the market lady.

She has been on Bakers Senior. Advised to stop that as with all its colourings and additives not good. I am now going back to Omega Tasty her original food and slowly introduce it back into her diet.

I will keep you updated on her progress.

The sun has come out again and we will go outside for a short while

Welcome back to the real world Spotty

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Health and wellness, Illness, Life, Spotty and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Sick Dog

  1. mavimet says:

    Chester and I are glad to hear that Spotty is doing better. She is lucky to have you on her side. 🙂

Leave a Reply

