R.I.P. SPOTTY

 

 

The time came for Spotty to go to Doggy Heaven. She had been carried out into the garden early this morning and lay in the sun and shade She was incontinent and her back legs were not working. Flies were hovering over her body. The postman called and he agreed with me that she was ready to depart this world. It was he  who encouraged me to go to the vet that day. I could see Spotty would not last until next Wednesday evening.

I contacted the vet and-all on my own – I carried her to the car but before going I carried her round the garden and the house for one last time so she could say goodbye. I drove the short distance to the vet. All morning I’d talked to her and stroked her. I sat with Spotty as she lay in the boot of the car until the vet was ready.. She gave me one very small lick on my finger. The vet carried her side and there administered the drug. In a matter of seconds she had gone- on her way to Doggy Heaven.

In about 2 weeks time her Ashes will be brought back to me and she will be sitting somewhere in pride of place, with her photos and rosette she had for being a ‘Golden Oldie’.

Life must go on and this afternoon all evidence of ‘dog’ had been sorted out and hidden away. Tea was strange as it was only ME and no dog to join me.

These photos were taken earlier in the year. I have many photos and many memorable times spent with Spotty

 

3. Spotty Wakes 23

 

Spotty

 

4. Observing the edge of the path

 

My Special Girl

 

 

Walk bottom pond

 

R.I.P

 

2.Ill Spotty sleeps 23

 

 

 

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Spotty. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to R.I.P. SPOTTY

  1. mavimet says:

    Oh Mary – this breaks my heart that you had to do this on your own. Spotty is now free from any pain and grateful that you were able to help her on her way. You were both very lucky to have found each other and for the years of happiness you had together. My thoughts are with you.

  2. Thank you for your kind and supportive words. Spotty has left me with many memorable moments.
    I say to myself ‘Tears and Time will heal’
    Spotty is in my thoughts as I get ready for bed and I will still be saying ‘Goodnight Spotty. Sleep well.’ as i have done for the past 15 years 6 months.

  3. Mags Corner says:

    I know sweet Mary you are going to miss your precious Scotty so much. You have 15 years of wonderful memories that the two of you made and once your heart has healed and you have grieved you will have all those memories to think on. I am sure it will be a comfort to you when she is back home with you in the special place you have for her in your home. You have some really great pictures of her. Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers sweet friend. Warm, gentle hugs!

  4. Aileen, Thanks for your kind words. yes this is a very difficult time. The place seems so empty but won’t be long before her Ashes are returned.I have a photo of Spotty smiling, Taken about a week before she left me, which gives me comfort.

Leave a Reply

