Spotty’s Final Days

After such a memorable day on Sunday Spotty is failing fast.

Tuesday she had the loss of use of her back legs. She was incontinent as well.

Tuesday and Wednesday I cried a lot as i tried to reason out what would be best for her.

As I write the plan is for her to go to the RSPCA clinic on Wednesday evening. She has been put down as first on the list. The body will be given back to me and then I will drive the half hour to ‘PETS IN PEACE’ where she will be cremated and the Ashes returned to me. My son will be with me.

But today I’m considering the other alternative which is more expensive. She has been lying outside in the fresh-air – relaxing. Getting back from town she was incontinent and was crying. Flies are going over her backside but I have put a net to stop them going on her body. Its very hard work washing her. I also have to carry her outside, in her basket, on the kitchen floor, always placing her on the ‘paddy pads’

I spoke with one of the ladies from the clinic who was more than willing to help me at this time as my son is working.

Time to go back outside with her now and continue my thoughts and I will let you know my decision in due course.

Letting go is so very hard but seeing your pet suffer is not kind for them when we do have the facilities in place for the help with ending their lives.

Spotty has been a wonderful companion showing much love and excellent company for the past 15 years.

So now I’ll close. Thank you for reading as writing this has helped me.

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Spotty, Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spotty’s Final Days

  1. mavimet says:

    I am so sorry Mary. I have been through this many more times than I would like and it is never easy. Spotty has had a wonderful life with you and she knows how much she is loved. Whatever you do for her at this point will be done in her best interest. My thoughts are with you.

  2. Mags Corner says:

    I know how hard it is to let them go and deciding what to do is not easy but I know you will do what is right and know in your heart that you did when you do decide. Still keeping you in my thoughts and prayers. Warm, gentle hugs

Leave a Reply

