New Dog on the Block

A week after Spotty went to ‘doggy heaven’ she was returned to me in her bluebell scatter tube. She has a special place on my chest of drawers. Her dog collar; Golden oldie rosette (first prize), hangs on the photo showing her standing by one of her favourite trees. I have a vase of flowers and 2 night lights too and these will be replaced whenever the need be. Spotty has left me quite a few white feathers. She also placed the yellow comb I’d lost a few weeks back, on the mat in the hallway

When I lie in bed I look to my dressing table where there is the photo of Spotty on her last walk. Down at the bottom pond, the place she always loved, and she is smiling.

Spotty will be remembered as a very faithful dog.

Yet now too there is another photo of another Collie dog. Now I wonder who she is.

After a week I looked on the internet at the Bridgend Dogs Trust. Here she was just pleading for me to come and see her.

image

ABOUT FAN

Fan is eight and a half years old. Her farmer died and the family brought her to the Dogs Trust.

Fan has a lot of Spotty’s characteristics about her. I was told she is very nervous and frightened.

Hey who wouldn’t be having been taken from the farm environment and being in a restricted space – not able to run free, And what about those injections and going to sleep to be neutered. Then there’s all these other dogs barking

 

 Last Sunday my son came with me and we drove the country lanes getting lost but the sun shone as we ventured to find the place.

At the reception we asked to see FAN. Looking in the ‘playroom’ at first I could not see her but then my son pointed out a little black face peeping from behind the settee on the side of the room. We went back up to reception and said I was interested and said I would visit again. I went back down to say goodbye. This time she was lying on a doggy bed, on the  back wall,facing me. She got up slowly  turned and went to hide behind the settee.

I visited again the following Thursday. The kennel girl had her on a lead and we walked up to a seat. I noticed how she loved smell. As we sat and talked so Fan allowed me to stroke her. Again back at reception I stressed how much I would love to give her a home.

Now they said she would be reserved for me. They also said because of her nervousness she would need to stay in for a further two weeks but that I didn’t mind.

Today Saturday I visited again.

This time I was allowed to walk her on my own. Well we bonded. I tried out commands and to see if she would answer her name. Excellent she did. All the time we walked she smiled. We then went into the big barn where Fan ran around and came back to sit by me and to give me lots of ‘nose rubs.

Back at reception I asked the next step. Home visit on Monday and Wednesday to pick her up and bring her HOME.

I am looking forward to all our walks and having company again. So Mary will be back on track with her new companion and will enjoy blogging once more. I close with the two photos taken today

image        image

       Who is out there?                                    I’m going to live with Mary

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in dog, Pets, Photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Dog on the Block

  1. mavimet says:

    Oh – she is beautiful Mary. I’m so happy that she will now have a wonderful home with you. Congratulations. 🙂

  2. Thanks. I’m looking forward to being more active, Now I’m over my 3 year illness and the time spent nursing dear Spotty it’s time to have fun again.

  3. I’m so glad you seem to have found a new friend 🙂

  4. Bongo says:

    Sorry to hear about Spotty, but it sounds like you’ve found a great new friend in Fan.

Leave a Reply

