Introduction–FAN–Welsh Collie

 

 

 

 

3. top patio no lead 11 Sept

 

Hi my name is FAN.

I lived up on the farm for eight and a half years. One day my Farmer died and I was all sad. The family came and took me to their house in Cardiff where I spent some time in a kennel outside. As their house was small there was no room for me so I went to the Dogs Trust near Bridgend.

Everything now all changed. Here I was put in a kennel and had a collar put round my neck. A kind lady took me for walks with a lead attached. But the first week or so I went to this kind lady’s house whilst getting used to my new way of life. The kennel was nice as it had a bit at the back with a cage with a cover over the top and this was where I could hide..

My freedom had gone. The other dogs told me it would not be for long as someone would come along and adopt me and I would get my freedom back but not as I had been used to up on the farm. Evidently down in what they call ’civilisation’ it is the law to have a collar lead on.

To make sure my health was good I saw the Vet. He was kind and gentle but he put some stuff on me to get rid of fleas and worms that sometimes get into the body and they are not nice at all. I was given 3 injections against diseases that could be picked up as well as the ‘Kennel Cough’ Next thing to happen , I had an injection to help me sleep while they did an operation called ‘spaying’ and this evidently stops you from having any puppies. Good thing ‘cos being a Mum is awfully hard work..

I had arrived at the kennels at the end of July and in the second week of August a lady came with her son to see me. At this point I am very nervous and scared. I was in the play area which was like a persons lounge. There were settees and there I hid. Peeping over the arm of the settee I could see that the lady looked o.k.. A few days later she came back and m,y carer took me to meet her. We walked up the path  to where there was a seat to sit on for the humans and I sniffed and felt really good when she stroked me. On the next visit I was allowed to have a walk with her round the car park. We went in to the big barn where more ‘getting to know ‘ happened. I sensed she would be a good owner. Will she have me?

Well you will have to wait for my next blog when I will let you know the outcome.

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Fan, Life, Memory, Photo, Story and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Introduction–FAN–Welsh Collie

  1. mavimet says:

    Hi Fan – this is Chester from Canada (using my Mom’s computer). It is very nice to meet you and I’ll be waiting for your next blog to see what happens. Here’s a big sloppy kiss for you. :p

  2. Mumsy's Little Chancy Man says:

    Glad to meet you Fan, we will be looking forward to hearing the outcome of this story. Hugs and nose kisses

Leave a Reply

