Adopting Your Dog

My pet /companion for the past 15 years left me to go to ‘doggy heaven’.

 

1. Spotty on our walk

Through out her last few months I kept wondering shall I or shall I not have another dog.

Having said my goodbye and taken her to the vet for cremation, the house was very empty. No pitter-patter of paws going up and down the hallway. No having our meals together. No going out for slow walks or rides in the car. No dog for comfort, only happy memories and photos of our times together.

I looked on the internet at The Bridgend Dog’s Trust and there she was!!! She looked at me from her photo and I at her. It was instant bonding.

image

My next step was to study carefully the criteria  of ADOPTION.

These are the points needed to be eligible.

1. Consider what type of dog easy sheepdog like Spotty

2. Consider age. Not young and Fan at eight and a half years sounded about right.

3.Ensure your garden is secure and safe. Definitely.

Next with this all in mind – a visit to the Dogs’ Trust Bridgend.

It was a lovely sunny day and viewing was from 12 – 4 . I picked my son up and we drove from Swansea to Bridgend. It took us a while to find as we travelled down some very narrow country lanes. But with the sun shining everything looked inviting and knew we would find the place o.k.

At reception one of the staff gave me a form, with appropriate questions, to fill in. They were related to the home environment; type of dog; other pets, and family members.

Another piece of paper were numbers relating to the kennels. Taking this with us we went to look at the dogs but we knew who we wanted to see’

Fan was not in her kennel but in the ‘playroom. This room was laid out like your own lounge at home. On looking through the window I could not see her. I asked my son could he see? ‘Yes Mum.over here he pointed .There peeping out from behind the arm of the the see settee was a black and white face. Obviously very shy.

Back up at reception I asked if Fan could be brought out but the answer was NO as she was still very timid. I told her of my interest and she said to come back in a few days time to meet her properly.

NEXT TIME Meeting Fan and and how she came home to me

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Actions, Fan, Life, Photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adopting Your Dog

  1. Clowie says:

    I’m very sorry to hear about Spotty.
    But I’m glad that you decided to get Fan.

Leave a Reply

