Fan–Update

Hi Readers. No doubt you are all wondering about Fan the collie.

She has ben keeping me very busy and over the past few weeks have not had time to blog.

Fan is settling in well. She is a very nervous, scared, frightened dog when I first had her home. All due, I believe to her life up on the farm . Hence much time has been given in re-assuring and giving lots of love.

We both have been experimenting on getting to know how to live with each other.

Fan has a very lovable nature. Each morning (she sleeps in the kitchen) when I open the door she comes up to me and places her front paws on my chest and we stand a while, I with my hands on her shoulders.

Fan hates thunder and lightening and at first the flat became a tip while she searched for a dark place to hide. She has now a place in each room where she will curl up and wait for calm to return.

Out walking has been a nightmare as she pulled on the lead but this week has improved tremendously. I have her on a training lead (short lead) to walk the pavements. These to her are strange and in the beginning very skittish. Again this is getting better. Once at the safe places I alter to a extension lead (long lead) that enables her to run free.

In the beginning Fan was all over the place but now knows how far this will let her go; looks back at me, and come up to me. It is interesting to note that her first few weeks her tail remained tucked tightly between her legs. Now its out and yesterday on our walk it was held high. Our walks are the same few to begin with and slowly I’m introducing her to others.

We walk in the local big park, up the wreck, Eaglesbush (trees, country lane beside the running brook.)  A ride in the car to the beach. She loves the sea as she does like paddling the streams in the park.

I am walking much further than I have for a long time. Having been ill for 3 years and Spotty not able to walk far I had forgotten all the lovely long walks I used to do but now Fan is introducing me to them again. I feel so much better.

Fan has a fear of men which makes me think she has been ill treated in her past life. It is this which I am working on at present.

I went away for the weekend recently and my friends, just up the road, were able to look after Fan. Prior to my going I visited nearly every day for Fan to get used to them. She now has a second home!

Fan is giving me so much joy. Each day she achieves something different.

Adopting a dog can be a challenge but give the dog your time, attention and patience and you will be rewarded with a loving faithful, friend for life.

I will close now and will blog again to tell of our adventures together.

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Challenges, dog, Fan, Life, Observations, Pets, Thoughts, Updates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fan–Update

  1. mavimet says:

    I’m so glad that you and Fan have found each other. 🙂

  2. Bongo says:

    It sounds like Fan is adjusting to her new life wonderfully. I’m jealous of some of the places you’re getting to walk. There’s no water near my house unless we get in the car and drive for awhile.

    • Yes I am so lucky to have found a nice home. Life up at the farm was awful and i am still very scared of the male humans but it will get better. My person is not being told what happened to me,and its a big secret that I want to forget Anyway just follow the blogs and imagine you are there with me.

  3. Mags Corner says:

    That is wonderful that you and Fan are learning together and doing so well. What a lovely companion you have and what joy you each will experience together. You are both blessed to have each other. Keep enjoying those nice walks. So happy you are feeling better after your walks. Hugs and nose kisses for you and Fan from me and mine!

  4. Clowie says:

    I’m glad that Fan is becoming more confident.

Leave a Reply

