Flat Packed and D.I.Y.(for the elderly)

I had decided to have a couple of new items for the home.First step was to look on the internet. This was followed to visit the stores The Range and Buyology.

At Buyology I purchased a wooden bed. It is higher than the old one. Having paid and arranged on the Saturday that the bed would be delivered on the Tuesday. This cost £88.99 plus £30 delivery. It was ‘flat packed and had my son been available would have saved the delivery cost. WHY IS EVERYTHING FLAT PACKED?

I was in for a surprised on Monday mid-day when the bed was delivered. An easy task to put together. Tuesday I began the process but came to a part that I could not puzzle out. Luckily my handy man was calling to be paid. When he arrived  I explained and he very kindly finished constructing the bed.

With the bed higher Fan has to jump higher to get on the bed but being a sheepdog that is no problem to her.

In the  Range I tried out the massage recliner chair, So comfortable and the controls easy to use. It came with a foot stool.

Now comes the problem. it is ‘flat packed’. I chose Brown. Next to pay only to be told that here was a delivery charge of £25. Unfortunately my son is now unavailable to help with picking up large items. Having looked on the internet it told me that delivery was FREE for goods over £159. My item cost £179.99. I informed the assistant I would order from the ‘net’.I had to order ‘cream’ as no ‘brown’

A few days after ordering on line  I had an e-mail to say it would be delivered ‘within 5 days’. The day it was delivered I had no notification and when returning from dog walk there on my back step was the large box. A neighbour had signed for it. I am a resourceful person and face challenges with gusto, I just gently rolled the box over several times to get it into the kitchen.

Next day the box was opened ; contents unwrapped and checked. Now to put it together.

Looked easy band I have only managed to put the base together. My Handyman I’ve phoned who will call up Monday morning to put it up. I hate not being able to do it myself!!!!!

In getting rid of my  other bed I’ve a local charity calling to collect. I said I would take it apart. I failed as could not see how the slats came apart. Calling in the shop I explained and they said not to worry as the men will do it.

At the age of almost 70 years i still do not like to have things beat me.

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Actions, Challenges, D.I.Y., Home Maintenance, Life, Shopping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Flat Packed and D.I.Y.(for the elderly)

  1. mavimet says:

    I hope you enjoy both your new items. It is too bad the companies don’t put them together for you. I think most places here will offer (for a price – of course) to do that.

  2. What a palaver! I’m not quite elderly (but getting there fast) – but I always find when I put together flat-packed things the bits never quite fit, or the trim is not quite straight.
    But if some things didn’t come flat-packed they would never get them through the door!
    Enjoy your purchases 🙂

  3. Mags Corner says:

    I too wonder why they flat pack everything, I guess it makes for easier shipping but it sure does not help us ladies when the item arrives. Good for you wanting to do for yourself. I just turned 75 and I too like being able to do for myself. Good for you getting the chair in the kitchen. Enjoy your new bed and chair. Hugs

  4. Leo says:

    When we were living in the UK , everything was flat packed. I think it is because of getting furniture up stairs. The thing is with them was you ended up with extras, but also had to go to the hardware store for the screws that were missing or too short. I bought a bedroom suit for my son and that was the only time everything went well. I wouldn`t want to do it now as at 74 things seem a lot heavier 🙂

Leave a Reply

