Flat on Your Face

I am sure you have all heard of the above saying. well this literally happened to me the other day.

1st. December 2014. My son’s birthday. A few days back I had said to him ‘What do you want for your birthday?’ he replied ‘Surprise me Mum.’

I was to go in on the bus to Swansea on his birthday morning. We were going out to our local favourite restaurant at lunch time and not having the car I could take in a little alcohol to celebrate his big day.

Before going I noted I had enough time to take Fan for a walk up to the near park, where she could run free. The route is up the steep road. Unfortunately I live in a very hilly area.

That day she was skittish again and pulling on the lead. hard work to control. It is the area where she seems to have been when she went missing and is always spooked.

On one of the corners of the road leading of was a van , yellow hose pipe on the road and 2 workmen. I crossed the road. A bit further down and I crossed the road again. She was pulling and could not stop in the middle of the road. I usually stop every time she pulls to let her calm down. Once on the pavement (it was sloping down) I stopped. Fan carried on and pulled me ove.

I FELL FLAT ON MY FACE! I did not knock myself out. For a moment I just lay there getting my breath. Went to get up but couldn’t so lay flat on the ground. When I tried to get up I noticed blood on the pavement. I decided to call for HELP.

I’d passed a man beside his car and on my side of the road was another van parked. The lady came across with her husband and (in a daze) i sensed other men around. The situation was worked out – I needed the ambulance. The lady placed a tissue and put pressure on my nose. One of the gentleman very kindly took Fan back to my house and brought back my purse.

The Rapid response  (in the car) arrived and assed the situation. Phone to see where the next available ambulance was –1 hour away over at Carmarthen, So he took me to Morriston hospital Swansea. My son was informed and late came up the hospital

The A&E was full, all cubicles people lying on the beds. I was taken to a small waiting area. 5 chairs. Another lady and her daughter were there and later another male person joined us. Here I sat, holding my more nose for two and a half hours. No staff came to to check me. I had my Obs. done and waited again another hour. Just before going in with the nurse to have stitches put in I was asked if I would like a sandwich. I said as a Coeliac I could not have this. So she said I could have ham and chips. Then it was  ‘sorry, no ham only pork.

Coming out for treatment I went back to sit in the waiting area. My chips were given to me in the cardboard container ( not sure of the right name) and tea in the plastic mug.

Oh how delightful to have something to eat and drink after all this ordeal My last food being breakfast at 8.00 a.m. that morning.

Now for the surprise. The tea was luke warm the chips and meat COLD

My son came and we took the bendy bus back to his flat in Swansea where I had a decent cup of tea and something to eat. I then caught the bus back to Neath.

Since the accident my eyes were swollen and lacerations to the lower and upper part of the nose . I felt unwell and tired but after6 days am pleased to say the eyes are down, scabs have formed and fallen off and feel a little stronger.

As for Fan today I’m reconsidering about taking her back to The Dogs Trust.After all I am almost 70 and she needs so much energy from me to get her trained. At the vets last week he said yes she looks more like 5 yrs and yes she has been abused. And vets know what they are talking about.

it’s a hard decision to make to take her back as I feel I have failed but as a friend said ‘it’s the dog not you and remember your age I will keep you updated

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in accident, Actions, Challenges, Disasters, dog, Fan, Life, Worrying and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flat on Your Face

  1. mavimet says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your fall Mary. Glad that you are healing though.
    I know how hard this decision about Fan will be. She is certainly a handful for you, which makes sense if she is only 5 years old and in her prime. Her time with you has made her much more adoptable, since she has learned to trust people again – so she will be fine, thanks to you.

  2. Thank you mavis . Your words are helping me. Going to have a chat with my daughter tonight. I wonder if I will be dong doing another’ swap dog’ as I did wihen I had Spotty? I do so miss Spotty

Leave a Reply

