mending Toys

DSCF0769

When I was a child I can remember that my ‘Edward Bear’ would often have his ear drop off. Also I had a favourite doll used to have the arm or leg fall off.

My Mother would say ‘Ah we shall have to send them to ‘hospital’ to get made better.

Today I sat sewing up the toy in the photo as Benji had made a slit in the back, a rip on the face,ear and arm.

I was reminded of my childhood days. Sometimes my dolly could not be mended and had to be sent away to THE DOLLS HOSPITAL and when it returned it was a new doll again.

Has anyone else have any memories like this?

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Benji, Memory, Photo, Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to mending Toys

  1. I do not, but I recently repaired a toy that my husband played with as a baby.

  2. Mumsy's Little Chancy Man says:

    No, I have no memories like that of my childhood, but I have sewn up many toys for the foster children and my children. Now days I sew up Chancy’s toys. Benji is adorable and I really do like that picture, it is so cute. Hugs and nose kisses Mags and Chancy

Leave a Reply

