Getting Crafty

Since my last blog life has been busy with new projects and new dog.

At the craft mornings I’m crocheting and knitting. I have made ‘Preemie’ hats and booties and a triangle, known as a Mother/baby comforter. The Mother places it on her breast.  then given to her baby who can smell its Mother and it helps with the bonding.

Preemie breast comforter                    Premie Hat

Preemie Mitts and Hat

I have used blue,green, mauve,orange. And have yet to make in pink and yellow. All done in the soft double knit baby wool.

I have tried crocheting the Daffodils but gave up as as I forgot how to do it therefore  each one is slightly different. I could not puzzle out how the centre is worked so they look like ordinary flowers.Sad smile

 

Crochet daffodils

Going from the Preemie babies to the adults. For the older folk in hospital who are suffering with one ailment or another related to old age another piece of knitting is about to be knitted. Its called a ‘Twiddlemuff’ it is done in stocking stitch on size 5 needles and uses the double knit wool doubled again. Photo will follow.

news on Benji will follow in another blog. At the moment he is looking out the front window and every now and again turns to tell me ‘when can I have my tea?’ so better do as hem asks!

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Challenges, crafts, crochet, Hobbies, Photos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting Crafty

  1. You HAVE been busy!
    That’s a fascinating idea about the mother/baby comforter. I have never heard of that before.
    You must have clean hands, judging by the whiteness of those baby hats. I always found the wool turned grey!
    I look forward to finding out about “twiddlemuffs”…
    All the best 🙂

  2. I had not heard of this either until I joined the ‘knit and natter ‘group on Fri. at neath library.
    Quick and easy to make. In the middle of making ‘twiddlemuffs’ for the elderly. I love an easy challenge

Leave a Reply

