May Day Fun

Every year the Melin Fun Day is held. The highlight of this event is the local dog show.

2 years ago I entered Spotty and she won the GOLDEN OLDIE. Last year I took her up again and entered her. Unfortunately. as I walked round the field waiting for the event to commence, I noticed that Spotty was really too ill to enter and so I took her out.

Spotty is now in Doggy heaven as you all know and I have Benji, my JRT x Beagle. The day dry with a little chill in the air and the sun shone in intervals.

I go as soon as the event starts as I like to get my Tomato plants. Last year I had the last 2!! They sell out of plants very quickly. This time I had 4 Tomato plants and 6 Runner bean plants. As I was entering the dog show I asked for them to keep and I would collect after.

Benji was entered into “Handsome Dog” – no prize.” Golden Oldie” – No prize.

The final was “Judges Favourite”. In this category were many dogs. Well, what chance did we stand? He walked round beside me, said hello to the other dogs and stood beside while the judging took place.

‘Have you decided?’  ‘Yes, and this year we have a silver cup for second and third.’ Will you start with the winner runner up?’

She looked straight at Benji and I and said ‘Third prize goes to Mary and Benji’ Everyone clapped and cheered. I gave Benji some of his doggy treats of sausage.

I was, as they say, gob smacked. Us!! You can imagine how proud and excited I was. All the winners had their photos taken with the Mayor and Mayoress.

Well done Benji.We had a yellow rosette and a silver cup. We could not bring the cup home as it had to be engraved. Only then will we have it for 6 months, then returned ready for the next show wherever.

Once the cup has arrived I will be able to take photos and post them for you to see.

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Benji, dog, Event, Life, Memory, Outings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to May Day Fun

  1. Ah well done Benji and Mary of course!

  2. mavimet says:

    Congratulations Mary and Benji. 🙂

Leave a Reply

