Day Trip At Sea

 

image

 

Has any one suffered with sea-sickness?This happened to me recently

My friend and I were looking forward to our trip on THE BALMORAL. We first booked to travel fro Swansea to Ilfracombe and then having a steam train ride before embarking on then journey back. It would have been an all day trip. Unfortunately the trip was cancelled but we could use our tickets again. A cruise was going from Swansea around the Gower and as far as where one could see Tenby and Caldey Island where the Monks reside.

I drove the car to Park and Ride and there we were transported to the dock area, a few minutes away. Instead of leaving at 12.00 there was a delay of half an hour. We boarded the boat and took up our seats on the top deck and sat facing the coast line. An hour into the journey and with the sea a little choppy, my friend and I decided to go below for a cuppa.

Whoops !……  I was wobbly on my feet and didn’t feel quite right. A lady, who later I knew as Susan, helped me down to the area serving food and drink. I ordered my tea and went to sit at the table. Immediately I put my head in my hands and put my head on the table. From then on I was well looked after as the illness prevailed. Some of the crew came to say I could go down in the bar (an empty one throughout the journey) where I could lay down. Here I stayed,feeling awful, not able to eat or drink, and just sleeping. Or should I say ‘cat napping’ and feeling nausea, hot and cold and shivery. The Captain came down to check me and produced a blanket. My new friend very kindly stayed with me for the duration. The whole episode lasted 5 hours. When the boat put into port everyone got off and a paramedic came on board to check me over. Walking off the boat I began to feel a bit better. I was taken to a waiting ambulance who again checked my obs. and did the ECG. A clean bill of health. I was offered to go to hospital but declined as my bed at home was all I wanted. By now it was 7.00 p.m.

Whilst on board (I had already decided I could not drive the car) The Captain contacted Park and Ride to explain. My friend phoned another of my friend who came to pick us up.

I was glad to get home and as i hadn’t eaten all day, had some soup.

The following day my friend took me over to drop me off where I picked up my car. The man in the kiosk enquired after my health and hoped I’d soon be better.

But this was not to be. I had also picked up a virus and for the following days was very weak and exhausted and wanting to sleep most of the time. It took me a week to get over this and am happy to say am now fully recovered. The company sent a letter saying how sorry they were to hear I had been ill on board and hope that I would travel with them again. I wonder??????

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Disasters, Health and wellness, Illness, Life, Memory, Outings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day Trip At Sea

  1. mavimet says:

    So sorry you were sick, but am sure glad you were so well looked after. This doesn’t sound like sea sickness – but caused by the virus that kept you ill for a few days later. Glad you’re feeling better now.

  2. Yes that was the conclusion I came to

Leave a Reply

