Problems Taking a While To Sort Out

Sorry about not posting lately. many problems have occurred as well as Benji and I are getting acquainted.

WATER,WATER, EVERYWHERE

Recently I had a flood in the house. Opening one of my cupboards I was greeted with2 inches of water. The bits on the floor wet too. Further investigation and the cupboard at the opposite side also had water in. Benji’s dog bed wet too and I knew it wasn’t him!1

This meant water coming up through the floor. All happening on a Sunday. Sorting out a nightmare in trying to find a plumber . I believe the people thought ‘oh this is an old lady who puts it on / exaggerated. After a lot of running round a phone call to our local CARE AND REPARIR who gave me some numbers. By now it was around 4’ish. This plumber knew that I was in an emergency and duly arrived an hour later. Saying he would prepare first and tomorrow fix BUT  he done most of it all that evening. Throughout the ordeal I had to have my stop cock turned off right from Sunday. The cold water pipe, going through the wall and on to the kitchen, had eroded inside the wall, hence the constant flow of water not a drip, drip, drip.

Now all has dried out and the pipe mended – back to normal in this room.

 

1 pipes                          2 pipes

Preparing                                     new part put on – mended

 

 

NEIGHBOR UPSTAIRS – INCONSIDERATE.

As the title suggests this is what my neighbour’s upstairs are like. I had approached them many times about this matter and their answer – they could do nothing about it.

Now you ask what has been going on?

Back in August I could hear click, click click up in the ceiling in my bedroom. As time went on it got worse. It would start , at first, at 9.00 p.m and be constant until 11.30 p.m. It woke me up at 5.15 a.m.

As I say this. goes on and on with longer times at night. i.e. starting earlier. I can longer sleep in my own bed and am sleeping on the bed settee in the front room. I have to take sleeping tablet. Tried the ear plugs but did not get on well with these. Is this ideal? NO, NO NO.

It’s their central heating pipes and on consultation with 2 experienced Gas Engineers – it can be resolved.

2 weeks ago  I contacted Environmental Health who asked me to write down times ect. As I had already been doing this I was able to send off the evidence  sooner. The phone call last Monday from him said he would write a letter and I’m to phone him to see what will be done. So I will update you of the progress. They also have cameras that invade my privacy and this I have to go to the police and will do when this other bit is sorted.

Well no more for now and hope my next posts are on a brighter note.

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Actions, Challenges, Disasters, Life, Memory, Photos, Updates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Problems Taking a While To Sort Out

  1. mavimet says:

    Oh no Mary – what a mess! Glad you got the water problem fixed. Now – hopefully your neighbour problem will be cleared up soon too. Thanks for letting us know what has been going on.

  2. Sheesh! I guess when it rains it pours… Sometimes literally! Uncooperative neighbors are the worst! Ugh. Hope it’s all squared away soon.

Leave a Reply

