Bonfire night

Bonfire night has now passed. This year I have had Benji to cope with.On the letter that accompanied Benji to his new home it said he did not like the fireworks.At 6 p.m. they started … the bangs and flashes.O.k. he was not too bad but then I could see by 6.45 that I should give him 1 of the tablets he came with. I put it in a piece of cheese and he enjoyed that.

it had a very strange effect on him as he kept looking at me with a big smile on his face. This could have been a false smile, He was shaking too. Very restless and paced about the floor. He also scrunched up the small rug, looked for places to hide but not settle.

Bedtime – O.k. tried him in my room …. did not settle. And guess what those HORRIBLE people upstairs put the ‘clicking’ at 9

I put Benji in the kitchen and made up the bed in the front room. Tried to sleep. Could hear him. By now it was 10.45. Noise stopped – I unmade the bed ,put everything away, got another drink and found out another pill for Benji –SERENE-UM – that I’d had for Fan. Into another piece of cheese and down it went. he lay down on the mat in the front room. At last – peace. That was when I made my drink and got something to eat. At the same time put the mats straight in the kitchen. He’d dragged them all over the place.

Having eaten my snack we retired to the bedroom where the clicking had stopped. This time Benji went into his bed. Quiet reigned as we both went off to sleep – mid-night.

I was woken at 5.30 a.m. with the clicking so put the radio on and tried to sleep but not very well. I am exhausted and another day dawns. My knitting group this morning and am calling in the estate agents to see what is around.

I desperately want to get away from here and at the moment there seems to be nothing around. I ask –“Am I being tested?” but patience is running out. How long can I go on like this?

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Benji, Challenges, Life, Thoughts, Worrying and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bonfire night

  1. mavimet says:

    Glad you and Benji made it through Bonfire Night (not sure what or why that is, but doesn’t sound good when you have a dog that is afraid of fireworks). Good luck on finding a great place to live.

Leave a Reply

