Viewing

I have a friend who will be coming with me on my VIEWINGS. Last Saturday we were able to view HIGBURY COURT.

A very small 1 bed flat. It was like walking into a box. The tiny lounge had room for a settee and small table and T.V. adjoining was the kitchen, hence ‘open plan.’ We felt that whilst in the lounge one could hear one’s appliances working. Into the tiny passage and a door opened into the minute ‘shower’ room with basin and toilet. The bedroom had a fitted wardrobe the length of the wall, a bed up against the wall gave little space to walk in and the bedside table beside the bed. Back in the shower room I noted a missing tile. The estate agent informed us that upstairs had had a leak causing water to the room. We could see no personnel effects of the elderly gentleman and my friend enquired how long he had lived there? –18 months. There were no gardens . The estate agent left. My friend and I looked at each other and said ‘NO WAY’ But it gave us many points to think about.

Monday we viewed a property situated by the canal. This area is very pleasant and close to town with the doctor, shopping, and my activities in town.

It was empty. Again a 1 bedroom place. The bedroom bigger than the previous one. Downstairs open plan yet small. A conservatory had been added taking up most of the garden. The fence overgrown with ivy. Another NO WAY, but slight improvement.

 

Having seen the 2 properties I now had an idea what I’m looking for

2 bed. house/flat/bungalow with garden and in close proximity to the town.

The flat is now on the market and I’ve not heard from upstairs as I had to offer it to them first as it says in the lease. This is being done by my solicitor as I wanted it ‘official’ and I’m not talking to them.

My plan – The internet is a wonderful place as I can look on there and have  registered with various estate agents. I will look every day and write the properties down. Once my flat has an offer I will go and look at the areas, request a viewing of the ones liked.

I am feeling more myself now. Will slowly sort out my stuff, and when moving  – do the packing. It’s time to enjoy my last few months here, relax and do leisurely things with out worrying.

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Actions, flat, Life, moving, Thoughts, Updates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Viewing

  1. mavimet says:

    I’m glad you have a friend available to go with you as you look Mary. I hope you can find just the right place.

  2. Genevieve says:

    Sometimes it helps to see what you don’t want to help you decide what you do want.

Leave a Reply

