Health Issues

I have a yearly appointment in November with regard to my eyes. last year I was informed that my cataract was beginning and I could go on the waiting list. I had time to think about and in May of this year contacted the secretary and was put on the list.

I had no idea how long the wait was and just carried on with life as one does.

A few weeks back the hospital at Bridgend phoned and said I could be on their waiting list and could have the op in January. I agreed

The letter came through for me to attend the Assessment and another letter came saying the op would be £ December.

I had no one who could drive me there and back. It was 30 minutes away and IO would be having drops in the eyes so could not drive myself.

I phoned up and booked and ambulance.

Now years ago you went in the ambulance and usually toured all round picking other folks. I was prepared for this but pleasantly surprised when at 12.40 a car drew up. Out stepped a stockly built gentlemen and asked for me. He helped me to the car and opened the door for me.This was the car ambulance service. Another lady was already on board, Off we sent on a very pleasant quick drive up the M4. I was far too early for my appointment but the gentle re-assured me. He came to the destk and explained I was an ambulance patience. He them told me when I was ready to tell them at the desk and they would ring for him.

 

I was first in and the whole procedure took 1 hour.it unfolded that I have something growing from the corner of the eye and – Skin? – This would have to be removed first. If I wanted to have the other eye done first I could but this all depended on what the doctor would say. She would be consulting her on Thursday and would be back in touch with me to let me know the outcome. So the op for next Thursday is off.

At first I thought –well wait till after Xmas then I changed my mind – the sooner the better.

My driver came for me and as I wasn’t seeing too well I linked arms with him as we went to the car waiting outside. Lovely smooth journey from a very pleasant driver

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Challenges, Health and wellness, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Health Issues

  1. mavimet says:

    Interesting idea – to book an ambulance to go to the doctor. Sounds like a pleasant experience. Hope all goes well Mary. Can’t fool around when it comes to the eyes, so I agree that the sooner, the better. Keep us updated please.

Leave a Reply

