The Red Spotty Hanky

A Short Memory.

Many years ago, I believe in about the 1950’s. I acquired a LARGE RED SPOTTY HANKY.It was something that became a firm favourite.

I always placed it under my pillow and everywhere I went in life it came with me.

I grew up,went to do my nursing,got married, had 3 children and moved home several times

In 1977 the house was packed up and on the morning prior to leaving Newbury put the RED SPOTTY HANKY on the bedroom windowsill. Busy with doing the last bits and then getting in the car , my husband drove us down to Wales –150 miles.

Once the beds were put up and made, supper eaten and children put to bed, I clambered into bed, ready to sleep.  Feeling for my hanky, found it was not there. I remembered then, it was all the way back up in England!!!!

Over the years I’ve said to myself “ I really must buy another one.” but never done so.

The years have slipped by –38 years – and whilst shopping this year saw RED SPOTTY HANKY There were 2 in the box but much smaller than my previous one. I bought them

And so now I have my RED SPOTTY HANKY once more. Oh the joys of the little things in life

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Life, Memory, Missing, moving, Story, True Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Red Spotty Hanky

  1. Genevieve says:

    I love a happy ending!

Leave a Reply

