Woken At Midnight

 

I don’t stay up for midnight but fall asleep to be woken at that time with the bangs and flashes of others celebrating the New Year.

With Spotty fireworks never bothered her. Fan just went mad going everywhere trying to get away from them and causing disruption by knocking things over.

Benji dislikes them intensely but this year I gave her ‘calming pills in the morning and with his tea, So we retired to bed about 9.45 p.m.

As was the usual I was awoken with the noise. Benji,in the kitchen, could be heard scraping the floor with his paws. I was tempted to get up to him but stayed strong and let him get on with it. At least he did not bark

.
The fireworks did not seem to go on for very long, 15 minutes. When quiet I went to the kitchen. Benji had moved his bed and blanket by the back,back door. The mats were scrunched up and a puddle of water on the floor.

He dashed to the bedroom then came out to sit in the hallway while I tidied up the kitchen. Mopped the floor, put the mats  and his bed back. Whilst the kettle boiled  I put Benji’s lead on and took him outside where he relieved himself.

I made my drink, something to eat, and got some cheese out. I put the calming pills in and gave to benji. He loves cheese and has no idea I put pills in it.

We went back to bed , while I read and had my drink my little boy settled to sleep in his basket and then both of us slept till the morning.

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Actions, Benji, Disasters, Life, New Year and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Woken At Midnight

  1. Good, brave boy, Benji. I’ve learned that fireworks don’t hurt us. The mailman is a different story. I’m pretty sure he’s trying to kill me….

    Love and licks and happy 2016,
    Cupcake

Leave a Reply

