I Feel Lopsided–Benji

Easter Monday evening I was giving Benji a cuddle. He had a cuddle an hour before. His ear flap was red. swollen and feeling warm. On consulting the internet discovered it could be a Hematoma. The cause; by mites in the ear, an insect bite, a knock of some sort. This causes the blood vessel to burst and the clotting forms. It also told me that the only treatment is to have it lanced to drain the blood and if left too long would cause a deformity of the ear flap.

Wednesday evening I took him too our ‘cheap’ clinic.

’Always trust a Vet.’ Well I’m not so sure as what she told me did not go with what the internet sites and people I’ve spoken to – have said.

She told me that it would go down in 2 weeks but if it did not or got worse – come back. I still had doubt in my mind about her treatment.

By Monday Benji still had this and has been shaking his head more and trying to scratch. One has to be careful he doesn’t cause a bleed.

I called in the vets Monday and to get my referral form have to go to the clinic Wednesday evening then call into them next day. It’s still bothering him and has been crying too.

Let’s hope we can get it sorted out ASP Will keep you updated

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Actions, Benji, Illness, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Feel Lopsided–Benji

  1. mavimet says:

    Poor Benji – hope his ear is feeling better soon.

  2. Cupcake says:

    Poor Benji! I hope your sore ear gets sorted quickly and permanently. That seems like a long time to wait. Hang in there, little buddy.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  3. Mags says:

    Poor sweet Benji. I sure hope they can take care of his ear very soon and it will heal quickly. I know how we worry over our fur babies when they are not well or in pain. Saying prayers for both of you sweet Mary. Hugs and give Benji nose kisses for me

Leave a Reply

