Benji and His Operation

Benji had his last food and drink at 5.30 p.m. the night before. We arrived at the vets at the allocated time 8.50 a.m. I had to call him from his bed.The vet nurse took us into the consultation room where she took the necessary details and I signed to give permission for his anaesthetic. At this point he was a little unsettled. Obviously memory of the other day. I was asked whether they could give him a blood test (more expense)but after a lengthy discussion decided against it. At 13 years old Benji remains a very healthy dog. The nurse took Benji’s lead and he went good as gold with her and I left the room after a minute to allow them to ‘disappear’. Just as I left I could hear Benji barking.

I phoned at 2 p.m as requested and informed he could be picked up at 4 p.m.

he had a cone round his face to protect the ear from scratching. He has lots of stitches and has to go back on Monday for a check up. Benji pleased to see me and I took him home in the car.

He is on antibiotic x 2  a day and Metaform x 1. Chicken and rice were on the menu at 5.30 p.m. this followed by another meal at 10.p.m. He was hungry. A restless evening and to get some sleep I had to put him in the kitchen to sleep. Constantly crying.

Yesterday a better day and getting used to the cone. A small walk was taken but not far. Again today will be a couple of short walks just for toilet purpose.

  • Due to the destruction and havoc being done by upstairs while Benji away I took the opportunity to clear the back yard completely. This meant lugging big pots of plant right round the back and taking some round for a neighbour to look after. You know that yard is mine  so stuff should be left there. Of course now she’s in her element in putting her rotary line with wash in on. I should not have to live like this. Even my temporary gate, put up to stop Benji from going into the back yard from the back, she has moved.
  • Am off to speak to the solicitor on Monday to try and get things hurried up. I’m feeling really exhausted today and it has been an effort to write to you. I have had a letter from the hospital re assessment in having my other cataract done – 10 May and know for 6 weeks after the op NO HEAVY LIFTING. So maybe that will help. O.k time to stop now From Mary & Benji
About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Benji, hospital, moving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Benji and His Operation

  1. mavimet says:

    Thanks for keeping us updated Mary and glad that Benji has been looked after and is now on the road to recovery. I am so sorry that things are so stressful with your neighbours though and am looking forward to peaceful times for you in your new home.

  2. Well done, little buddy. I’m so happy you’re recovering well. Sounds like your mom is taking good care of you, like you will for her when she has her next surgery.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  3. Mags says:

    So thankful to know that sweet Benji’s surgery went well and he is mending. It is good that he is eating and getting more used to the cone. I hope he will be sleeping quietly at night now.

    Sweet Mary my heart aches for you having to put up with that lady and all she does with your property. You are right that you should not have to live like that. The nerve of that lady taking down the gate you had put up. I do hope they can work things out where you can move sooner and then that situation you live in now you will not have to be in any longer.

    I know you will be glad to have your other eye surgery done and behind you…not much longer to wait for that. And I do hope they can work things out where you can move sooner and then that situation you live in now you will not have to be in any longer.

    Will continue to keep both you and Benji in my thoughts and prayers. Hugs for you and nose kisses for Benji.

  4. Leo says:

    Thanks for finding my blog there doesn`t seem to be many lately.
    I hope you and Benji get well soon and your move goes as expected. We have been very lucky with most of our moves over the years, but i`m not looking forward to the next one.:-)

Leave a Reply

