Workmen

It’s all systems go in my new home. The urgent, important work has started. The electrician came last Monday. A re-wire is being done. Everything here has been running on extension leads –DANGERIOUS.

More sockets have now been put in; and smoke alarms in the ceiling which saves changing the battery. There is an old fashioned fuse box, hence it will be replaced

At the moment I’ve grabbed the chance to work on the computer as Saturday and Sunday he does not work, The bedroom upstairs where the computer is in a mess. The carpet is up and the underlay used was newspaper dated 1980. I take it that was when the carpets were put down. Also some of the floor boards are up. he was not able to come Friday so Monday work will commence again.

Monday ( in arrangement with the electrician) the gas/plumber will call. I say ‘strike while the iron is hot.’

I am having 2 radiators put upstairs and in my 3rd bedroom a ‘saniflow’ (toilet with sink).

Due to my diagnosis of osteoarthritis of the knee my ability to lead and active live will deteriorate. I hasten to add I hope it will be a slow process. We have people called Care and Repair who fix disability aids. On Monday they will be putting up another stair rail and a grab rail on the wall by the bath.

I am looking forward to the end of the week when I anticipate the work will be completed.

In one of our local charity shops that sell amongst other items – furniture – I bough a table with drop leaves for the grand some of £5 and this will be delivered Friday. Back to the workmen.

Well they have no idea on keeping things in easy access. He had put a mattress in front of my wardrobe. So had to move this to get at it. I wanted to iron so had to clamber over stuff to get at that!!!!

Then out in the garden he’d emptied the hoover into a bucket, and dust was over my bins and all over my new hose pipe!!!! this evening have cleaned all that up and this morning I have sorted the rooms so I can walk about ect. Oh my what a lot of dust!

Well, will keep you updated on how it all goes.

 

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Actions, Challenges, Home Maintenance, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Workmen

  1. mavimet says:

    Good for you for arranging all this work to be done all at once. That way it will soon be all finished, so you can enjoy your new home even more. 🙂

  2. Once the messy part is finished, things will be easier and more comfortable for sure.

Leave a Reply

