Saga Of My Poor Knee

 

INTRODUCTION

I want to get this off my chest. To forget bad things. Over the past few years until I moved to my new home I felt insecure and unhappy. Yet made the best of it all.

Pain is not a nice thing as we all know. What has happened now is I’ve been diagnosed with Osteoarthritis. Something that does not go away and so my life has to change a little I have to get adjusted to it all. so with the sorrowful story told I will now look to the future and good things in life

 

Thursday, 04 August 2016

A week after moving into my new home my left knee, on the side, gave me sharp pain. For next 5 weeks the pain was excruciating. It would be there for an hour, a brief time free from pain, and then start again. I took Ibupfren and Paracetamol – all with no effect. An x-ray was taken in the 3rd week resulting in a 2 week spell before the results were known. Cream prescribed by the doctor and still the pain continued. At las the results were known – Osteoarthritis of the knee. The following day I spoke with the doctor again and she prescribed co-codamol.

Throughout this time I struggled with daily tasks. Walking home with my new pills I was relieved to get in and took 2 and lay down on the bed settee.

Since the pain started I had put the bed settee up downstairs – so much more convenient.

Well what happened next was dramatic to say the least.

In half an hour the pain was gone!!!!! I was excited and felt really good. Then the bomb shell struck. Getting up I went to the kitchen to make a cuppa. Suddenly there was sharp pain in the centre of my chest. Just made it back to bed. Something urged me to call ‘for a friend. She arrived and I had another attack. She spoke to the receptionist but as they were taking so long I indicated ‘phone 999. Which was done. I was given aspirin as instructed by the telephone contact,

The Paramedics arrived and duly checked me over, asked questions. We then went in their car to the hospital as the wait for the ambulance would be long.

Art the hospital I was seen immediately and further tests were taken. By this time I was feeling much better. It was a long wait before seeing the doctor and I was given ‘the all clear’. I came back home and went to bed. I had no pain in the knee. But this was not to last as it is back with dull aches

When the paramedics were putting something in my arm I noticed when I had it taken off the bruise was nasty and lasted a further 2 weeks before going.

Benji was taken by my friend’s husband – bed, food, lead – back to their house where he stayed the night.

It is difficult to get in and out of the bath and at times stairs cause a problem but I will get there in adapting to my new illness. More will be revealed in my later blogs.

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Actions, Health and wellness, hospital, Illness, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saga Of My Poor Knee

  1. mavimet says:

    I’m sorry this is happening to you Mary. Hope you can get things under control and as pain-free as possible.

  2. Clowie says:

    That sounds like a frightening experience. I hope the pain becomes more manageable soon.

  3. Yes at long last the pain has eased with an occasional twitch

Leave a Reply

