Home Improvements

Moving house is a busy and stressful time. First you decide where you want to move , then its off to the estate Agents to get the best offer in selling your home. Whilst I waited for someone to view and make an offer. I went on the internet, looked at what the local estate agents had to offer and finally walked with Benji around the area looking for the ‘FOR SALE’ signs. I picked a few to view and ,hey presto, someone made an offer on mine and I’d seen the one I wanted. All systems go as the contracts were sorted and exchanged.

The next step was the moving – finding the removal man. The day arrived – all is packed up -into the van and off we went to my new home. To begin with my bits are pieces were in all sorts of places. Anywhere would do. It takes time to get to know the crooks and crannies.

The past months ( since June) have been hectic but at last there is a light at the end of the tunnel. The house re-wired – after an inspection of his work had deemed stuff not correct.  had the nightmare of  trying to get him back to rectify his work. That is now over. I’ve been touching up the paint where the new sockets have been put in.

I’ve had a sani-flow – toilet sink – put in the upstairs back room ( no more traipsing down in the middle of the night to the toilet). A god send. In the bathroom down stairs the old bath has been taken out and replaced with a lovely shower. A new Combi-boiler and radiators in all the rooms have been put in. Whilst doing this they switched off my gas fire in the back room and said it was unsafe, The feet are secure on the grate but it was not fixed to the wall, and that was the reason! After a lot of thought have purchased (at a very reasonable price) an electric log burner. I await the gas man to take out the old fire.

I’m on the final step now – carpets throughout. After  visiting lots of carpet shops found a mobile carpet man at very reasonable price. Work will start 8 December. He had carpet samples on his van and I was able to choose. So much easier to look in your home than go to shops.

I’ve been visiting my local charity shop ( the money goes to the Homeless) and bought a new recliner chair, wall unit, wardrobe. My unwanted furniture went to them.

Now I have time to get back to the computer to write up my Aunt’s writings, There’s Family History to get back to and to write stuff myself.

Benji has been  mischievous by finding his treat container, taking the lid off and scoffing most of his treats – all when I’d gone out. We have been for some nice walks up our local wood and we’ve had a walk on Swansea beach after our Sunday dinner at my son’s. The weather has been a little chilly but lovely in the sun.

Well best close now and hope it will not be too long before i catch up with you all again.

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Challenges, changes, D.I.Y., Home Maintenance, Life, Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Home Improvements

  1. mavimet says:

    It is good to hear from you Mary. I can tell that you’ve been very busy and have accomplished a lot in your new home. I hope you and Benji take a well deserved break over the Christmas season.

Leave a Reply

