D.I.Y. THE SHELF

I love to be creative in many ways. Being born at the end of the war – 1939/44 I am inclined to improvise. At the end of that war life was difficult, things in short supply and people ‘mended and made do.

As you know by now I am in my new home. There is always lots to do in the begining to make it ‘yours.’

When out for walks I am always on the look out for something useful, bits and bobs people have thrown away or something in the line of nature. To me everything has a use.

The other day I picked up a small plank of wood someone had discarded. Today I constructed into a shelf for the kitchen.

First I sanded it down, making the surface smooth. The next bit was to stick ‘fablon’ all over. I had one that was decorated in seashells. It is now ready for my son-in-law to put up in the kitchen. The family are down at the weekend and I’ve lined up a lot of things for him to do.

 

WP_20161207_19_53_14_Pro[1]

This is the finished project

I have enjoyed the task and now look at it and feel very proud of what I have done.

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Challenges, D.I.Y.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to D.I.Y. THE SHELF

  1. mavimet says:

    It looks great Mary. You’ll have to show it to us once it is up in its place. 🙂

Leave a Reply

