Looking Back

It was an eventful year 2016. It began with my flat being put on the market a couple of months at the end of 2015. My last Christmas had been spent with a sense of my problem upstairs neighbours would soon be in the past. February saw my first person to view and make an offer. I could do nothing until I had found somewhere else to live. Benji & I walked around the streets in the  same area, I scrolled the internet and visited estate agents. When my present home had been found, preparations were made to move. Seeing solicitors, packing, finding someone to move us. Finally the day arrived when I was to leave the flat I’d lived in for the past 13 years. It was the middle of June and the move went well.

There was quite a bit of work needed doing so only the essentials were unpacked. I had an emergency admission to hospital but not kept in. Problems developed with my knee causing lots of pain but has now gone as am taking ‘Vital3 ‘ recommended for joint pain. I had my 2nd cataract operation. Only 2 weeks ago I caught the ‘bug’ and was out of action for the week.

The house has been re-wired, new shower unit downstairs and a toilet and sink put upstairs – no more to either go downstairs (in the night) or use the commode. A combi-boiler and new radiators have been put in. The final step (just before Xmas) was putting the new carpets down. Everything is lovely and cosy now, with all the unpacking done. It’s time to enjoy my new home in 2017.

I have decided to print off my blogs from 2016 which had been saved in my e-mail folders. They are just waiting to go in a hard back folder. It will be something to read at a later date- a sort of ‘Diary’.

I am looking forward to re-designing the garden come the Spring.

 I have a keep fit group on Monday; Tuesday knitting; & Friday Knit & Natter  where we knit & crochet for various charities.

I have lovely neighbours, a bus that stops very close to the house; the vets is opposite and walks to the countryside 10 minutes away

My life is now HAPPY, CONTENT & NO STRESS.

All for now folks.

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Actions, Challenges, changes, Event, flat, Illness, Life, Memory, moving. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Looking Back

  1. Genevieve says:

    Great recap! It all sounds beautiful. I love a happy ending that’s really a happy beginning. Much happiness in your cozy new home.

  2. mavimet says:

    It was so nice to read this Mary. I am happy that things have all fallen into place for you. Looking forward to your next chapter. 🙂

  3. Thanks Mavis. Times are good now so can post ‘good’ things now

  4. Mags says:

    You had a very busy 2016 t say the least sweet Mary. I am so happy for you that you are now all unpacked, your new home is fixed to your liking and you and sweet Benji are all ready for a great 2017 in your new home. I will be looking forward to seeing all of your beautiful plants that you post pictures of in the spring. Hugs and nose kisses

Leave a Reply

