Mischievous Benji

This week Benji has been full of it. I came back from shopping and put my rucksack on the chair in the kitchen, Inside was the shopping. I had to go back out to go and collect my cleaner from being cleaned. On returning the rucksack was on the floor. Benji had tried to get it open and had succeeded in ruining it. Luckily there were packets but the bag of sugar had a slight tear in the packet and some of the sugar had fallen into the bag.

A day or two later, again whilst out he done more mischief . This escapade has told me Benji is a very clever, intelligent dog.

Between the fridge-freezer and the gas stove is my table and underneath the table is the ‘dog proof’ food bin. A chair is in front of the table and at the side a small vegetable rack.

Again I’d been out without him. First I noticed my wool basket on the floor but then my eyes went to the kitchen and what I saw astounded me!!! the chair had been moved, the rack moved, the table moved AND the so called indestructible food bin lay on its side, open! Even I have struggled to open it. What food was in there he had not taken thank goodness.

I popped over the vets with him to weigh and he was down to 13.k.

I had been pondering over why he should be doing these naughty things and believe it could be he is down to his correct weight and he is now hungry.

In the evening we visited the vet as his ‘wart’ was giving him trouble.

Discussing Benji’s behaviour the vet told me what I thought so no more dieting. We agreed that his lumps are fatty ones and when he puts weight on then they will get bigger. he told me ‘no more Steroids.’ He won’t be so hungry now ‘cos as Steroids cause the dog to put weight on and and they are more hungry. So no more dieting, no more Steroid tablet.

Whilst waiting the girls love to give waiting dogs treats and Benji knows this. He shows his appealing side of him and ends up with many treats, despite me saying NO. That night I was woken at 1.00 a.m. by Benji being sick. I explained to him he had had too many treats.

And so Benji continues to be naughty. I visited my friend this evening and when I came back (no away very long) he’d been in the kitchen ad done the same again getting out the food bin.

so that’s my Benji for you. Has anyone else  got mischievous dogs and what do they get up to?

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Benji, mischievous, vet. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mischievous Benji

  1. mavimet says:

    LOL – he’s just looking for some fun! 🙂

  2. Oh boy, B. You are getting into some big troubles. I certainly understand trying to get some extra kibbles. Mine are locked up in a cabinet, so I don’t stand a chance of that! Hopefully, when you stop your pill and get a little extra foods, you will be able to relax when your mom leaves you alone. Alone is always tough.

    Love and licks
    Cupcake

  3. AnnieMae says:

    Oh, no! I cannot believe sweet Benji has been doing all of that. I am happy he will not have to diet any longer or have steroids. Maybe he is doing all of that because he is hungry, but maybe he don’t like it that you did not take him when you left. Whatever is causing him to do it I hope it all gets worked out and he is back to being the good boy that he usually is. Hugs and nose kisses and thank you so much for accepting my invitation. I would not want to lose contact with you and Benji. I enjoy your blog.

  4. Thanks AnnieMae Just written about Vet visit – too much steroid in his body lets hope it soon passes for Benji

Leave a Reply

