Preparing For Spring 2017

The big things needed doing in the house are now all done. I can now concentrate on ‘the garden’

I’m starting from scratch and realize you can’t bring your old garden with you. New plants all round are required. Its and exciting time as I look out into the garden on a cold winters’ day, wondering what will transpire, when will it be warmer to begin designing (with flowers and veg), my very own little space.

Wednesday I had a trip with one of my groups to Camarthen. I was drawn to a quaint small garden center. All the plants looked very tempting, large I really could not carry back on the mini bus but something small would be feasible. I found MINT  and  loose Runner Beans seeds and so my passion has begun.

Yesterday I bought some primulas and containers.  The afternoon was pleasant with the sun shining making it feel quite warm. At the bottom of the garden is a long narrow strip of earth. Here I plan to grow my veg. I dug it over and placed a long piece of wood at the edge, to hold the dirt. I have inherited a very long piece of guttering and now changed my mind about the wood and will replace this with the guttering

Today in ‘Lidl’ I bought Strawberry plants and ‘Morrison’ a pot of white heather, In the green house awaits a pkt of wild flower seed waiting to be planted. I am planning a small pond made with an old plastic washing up bowl.

Can’t wait ’till the next nice day to be out side Gardening

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Actions, Challenges, Garden, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Preparing For Spring 2017

  1. mavimet says:

    Spring is so much fun and so is planning a garden space. Enjoy!

  2. I hope you will share pictures of all your new plants as the flourish. Hugs

Leave a Reply

