Spring– Beginning In The Garden

Just catching a little time to tell you about the garden.

When moving into a new home the garden is not always to your liking and over the winter months one plans. On a T.V. program I watched it told you how you can create a small pond. A washing up bowl is used. This has been my first venture – to create the pond. I have a lot of ‘surplus’ earth around but now no doubt in time will be re-used.

On one side of the garden, by next door’s fence they previous owners had put loads of small stones so I’ve moved them and am making a border. On my left raised bed I have put the pond. A lot of moving soil and trying to make the edges hold up. I dug a hole and place the bowl in. Put my fossils stones (collected over the years) into the bowl next rain water was added. I bought the special plant that helps to ariate the water. The final step was asking my friend (who has 2 ponds) whether she could spare some of the tadpole spawn. This year in her garden there is am abundance of frogs and spawn. Placed in the jam jar I carefully carried it home and deposited them in the new pond. Today I have been puttingsome plants an old wood around . Now its WATCH THIS SPACE.

I have inherited a long drain pipe and having no idea how to get rid of it decided to plant it in the garden. With openings both ends it could be a great haven for our insect life.

Well that’s all for now

About marystreasurechest

Life provided me a long variety of experiences in skills, careers and hobbies. Countryside, nature, gardening, reading, cooking, knitting, cross-stitch. Originally from Reading/Newbury areas, now reside in S. Wales. Writing stories, telling tales of everyday life . Take a peep in my 'treasure chest' and enjoy your read. All work on this site is copyright of the owner
This entry was posted in Actions, Challenges, Garden, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring– Beginning In The Garden

  1. mavimet says:

    I love the sounds of your plans and work Mary and can’t wait to see pictures of the progress. How exciting! We just had a 3 day winter storm here and received a bit more snow. Some areas got lots of snow.

  2. So anxious to hear and see how your pond does. It seems you are making great progress with your new garden and I know it is going to be beautiful. Hugs

Leave a Reply

